Just set up Email Notification Package 1.6

General question about the package, problems, solutions
mpatel

Just set up Email Notification Package 1.6

Postby mpatel » Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:07 pm

I was searching for a more robust notification package and I stumbled upon this one. I am fairly new to CQ, so I am still learning, but after I was able to successfully install the package, I did a test run on my first notification rule. Unfortuately, it failed. I am getting this error: "SMTP MAIL ERROR (From Address): 5.7.1 Client was not authenticated" when trying to send an email "from" me "to" me. The message contents look correct, but I am not fimilar with SMTP stuff.

Please help!

Thanks
Mitul

Pavel

Re: Just set up Email Notification Package 1.6

Postby Pavel » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:58 am

It looks like your server requires authentication. You need to configure "email_login" and "email_password" (secure) properties.
In some cases, mail relay could be restrictive and require that "From" email address would belong to the user used for authentication. In this case, you would need to set "email_address" property too.

Alternatively, you can deliver emails from a centralized location using "Queue" delivery mode and delivery script. The server used for notification would need to be added in the list of "trusted" servers on the mail relay.

Pavel

mpatel

Postby mpatel » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:57 pm

Pavel,

I put in my login and password and I get this error message:

"SMTP AUTH ERROR:
5.7.4 Unrecognized authentication type"

mpatel

Postby mpatel » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:01 pm

Pavel,

I need to add that my company is now using Exchange 2010, does that affect the SMTP connection? If so, how do I modify the code to make an NTLS connection instead? I believe that is what Exchange supports now.

Thanks
Mitul

Pavel

Postby Pavel » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:31 pm