Password reset activity

The place to ask a general ClearQuest question
sana.khatib
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Password reset activity

Postby sana.khatib » Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:43 pm

Hi All,

I need help with the following issue:
Our company has come up with a new rule to reset all the passwords for all applications across the entire organization. The challenge is that there are no service account, all are local system account on the CQ server and the database server as well. Also ClearCase is hosted on the same server.
The transition from the previous administrator was not smooth hence I dont have all that information.
Kindly help me with where I should be looking for the account for which the passwords should be reset.

Also we have this one id which is being used on the CQ server, but we are not able to trace as to where this id is used. Where can I find any information regarding this.

Also what can be the risk if the passwords are reset.

Will the licesing or the LDAP authentication be affected?

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Pavel
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:19 am

Re: Password reset activity

Postby Pavel » Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:55 pm

sana.khatib wrote:Also what can be the risk if the passwords are reset.

It depends on your environment, and on the scope of the password change.

sana.khatib wrote:Will the licesing or the LDAP authentication be affected?

There would be no impact on licensing, but if you need to reset password for the LDAP binding account, LDAP authentication will be impacted.
You will have to change this password for all ClearQuest schema repositories utilizing LDAP authentication.

Pavel

sana.khatib
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: Password reset activity

Postby sana.khatib » Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:58 pm

Thank you for your reply.

All I can say is all passwords will be reset. Except for the user passwords. All the user id's used by the administrators.

How do i find out this LDAP binding account?

Pavel
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:19 am

Re: Password reset activity

Postby Pavel » Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:04 pm

sana.khatib wrote:How do i find out this LDAP binding account?

installutil getldapinit

Pavel

sana.khatib
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: Password reset activity

Postby sana.khatib » Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:14 pm

Thanks a lot Pavel.

Can you also guide me as to where would i have to change the passwords if the LDAP Binding account password is changed.?

Thanks a Million

Pavel
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:19 am

Re: Password reset activity

Postby Pavel » Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:57 pm

sana.khatib wrote:Can you also guide me as to where would i have to change the passwords if the LDAP Binding account password is changed.?

It it installutil setldapinit command
http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/cqhel ... n_info.htm

Code: Select all

installutil setldapinit 7.0.0 admin secret "-h 'ourldapserver.ourcompany.com altldapserver.ourcompany.com' -p 389 -D cn=search_user,cn=Users,dc=cqldapmsft,dc=com -w secret_password"


Pavel

sana.khatib
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: Password reset activity

Postby sana.khatib » Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:18 pm

Thanks a LOT!!!!

Also is there a way to find all the admin user accounts?
and RationalAdminUser how about it?

Pavel
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:19 am

Re: Password reset activity

Postby Pavel » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:47 am

sana.khatib wrote:Also is there a way to find all the admin user accounts?
and RationalAdminUser how about it?

You can run a ClearQuest query on "users" record type and set filer for "is_superuser" field equal to "1"
Pavel

sana.khatib
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: Password reset activity

Postby sana.khatib » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:49 am

Thank you ... it really helped a lot.

sana.khatib
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: Password reset activity

Postby sana.khatib » Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:24 am

Hey hi,

Can someone help me that if I am to reset the LDAP binding account password, Do I have to run the LDAP binding commands all over agai, or there is another way to do it?

Thanks in advance.


Return to “General ClearQuest Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron